Alliance, Carrollton split top spots for All-EBC boys basketball selections


  • Daystar North Canton
  • Kishman's
  • slam dunk
  • Daystar Malvern
  • screenshot 2024 02 07 at 5.11.09 pm
  • Crowl Interiors in Malvern, Ohio
  • lifecare rotator ad
  • screen shot 2023 10 25 at 4.28.31 pm

Both Alliance and Carrollton High Schools boasted the most picks among the 2022-23 All-Eastern Buckeye Conference boys basketball team.

Carrollton, however, took both of the conference’s top annual honors, as senior Jaxon Rinkes was named EBC Player of the Year, while Mike Aukerman took the Coach of the Year award.

The Aviators and Warriors each went 9-1 in conference play during the regular season, and both featured a pair of EBC First Team picks. Alliance was represented by senior Diego Allen and freshman J.R. Jackson, while Carrollton’s top picks included Rinkes and junior Lincoln Mallarnee.

Included on the First Team were Marlington senior Casey Mille and Minerva junior Garrett Gonzalez.

Second Team selections included Alliance junior Brendan Zurbrugg, Carrollton senior Cadyn Smith, Marlington junior Beau Himmelheber, Minerva freshman Rowen Hoffee, Salem junior Ross Davidson, and West Branch senior Thomas Egli.

Each EBC school featured a pair of Honorable Mention picks, including juniors K’Vaughn Davis and Ramhir Hawks (Alliance); seniors Micah Barkan and Brock Smith (Carrollton); junior Jaden Proctor and sophomore Dyan Heatherington (Marlington); senior Brandon Davis and sophomore Jayden Yerger (Minerva); senior Caden Swiger and junior Camden Sampson (Salem); and seniors Dru DeShields and Michael Kanagy (West Branch).