Minerva sweeps Day 1 District relays; Lions’ Wheeler, Sandy Valley’s Tucci, Tusky Valley’s Stookey advance


  • Kishman's
  • slam dunk
  • lifecare rotator ad
  • Daystar North Canton
  • Daystar Malvern
  • Crowl Interiors in Malvern, Ohio
  • screen shot 2023 10 25 at 4.28.31 pm
  • screenshot 2024 02 07 at 5.11.09 pm

MILLERSBURG, Ohio – Minerva High School’s boys and girls 4×800-meter relay teams swept their respective races in Thursday’s first of two days of Division II District track and field competition.

The Lions’ boys quartet of Ryan Cassidy, Grasyn Rettig, Connor Shingleton, and Mason Steele finished at an 8:31.50 total time, while the girls (Jenna Cassidy, Hera Hoffee, Hannah Ison, Kayla Crissman) clocked in at 10:04.24.

Twitter: Minerva Track & XC

Minerva’s Abby Wheeler also qualified for the Regional tournament in the high jump event, with a 5-01.00 final finish. West Holmes’ junior Laney Duff (5-00.00), Sandy Valley sophomore Lexi Tucci (5-00.00), and Tusky Valley sophomore Rileigh Mosley (4-10.00) will join the Lions senior in the next round.

Twitter: Minerva Track & XC

Other qualifying girls participants included Tusky Valley senior Brook Stookey (shot put, 37-06.50), West Holmes senior Amy Hughes (35-07.50), junior Zoe Norris (34-04.50), and Claymont senior Liberty Dunlap (33-01.00).

In the pole vault, West Holmes freshman Casy Ogi, Indian Valley freshman Laynee McDaniel, and Tusky Valley senior Aliyah Ross each finished at 8-06.00.

On the boys’ side, Sandy Valley senior Mason Tucci won the long jump with a distance of 22-03.50, while Indian Valley senior David Adams (pole vault, 15-3.00) and West Holmes senior Brock Zimmerly (discus, 10.00) won their respective individual events.

Fellow qualifiers included Carrollton senior Austin Colletti (long jump, 10-02.00), Coshocton seniors Korbyn Haley (20-1.50) and Isaac Shook (20-1.00); West Holmes senior Zach Snow, freshman Macin Miller (pole vault, 11-06.00), and Indian Valley junior Remmington Myers (11-00.00); Claymont sophomore Kurtis Haney (discus, 1520-10.00), Garaway junior Tate Amicone (144-08.00), and Harrison Central junior Grayden Sproull (140-02.00).

Division II finals competition will commence on Saturday, May 21 at West Holmes High School.