Carrollton wrestling sweeps Minerva in team matches; Warrior boys win EBC title


  • Daystar North Canton
  • slam dunk
  • screenshot 2024 02 07 at 5.11.09 pm
  • Crowl Interiors in Malvern, Ohio
  • bh ad 9.22.23
  • Daystar Malvern
  • screen shot 2023 11 17 at 11.21.58 am
  • screen shot 2023 10 25 at 4.28.31 pm
  • Gionino's Pizza Now Open in Carrollton
  • lifecare rotator ad
  • Shook Auto in New Philadelphia
  • Shook Auto Buy Vehicles
  • Kishman's

CARROLLTON – Carrollton High School’s boys and girls wrestlers each recorded wins over Minerva in Thursday’s pair of team matches.

The Warrior boys (18-4, 5-0) totaled 11 wins in 13 individual matches for a 55-16 points win against the Lions, finishing as unbeaten champions of the Eastern Buckeye Conference.

Levi Pidgeon (126 pounds), Josh Carman (138), Ryan Kiko (144), and Adam Bennett (150) each won their respective weight division matches for Carrollton, as did Dalton Sweeney (157), Darrion DePalmo (165), Owen Spiker (215), and Aidan Shaw (285). Landon Jenkins (106), Kail Snair (113), and Ben Zinda (190) each won via forfeit.

For the Lions (3-2 EBC), Connor Norris (120), Joey Brocklehurst (132), and Hunter Dietrich (175) each earned individual victories, while Kail Snair won the 113-pound match via forfeit.

In the girls’ matches, the Warriors outlasted the Lions, 30-23, with Carrollton winning its final four matches to take the victory. Izzie Nuzzolillo won the 100-pound match against Minerva’s Saphira Denman (3:45 pin), while Penelope Menarcheck (155) pinned Rowan Brim at 1:57. Rylie Little (105), Kailey Delawder (190), and Austin Hoobler (235) won via forfeit, as did Sara Sphon (115) for the Lions.

Bridget Hilliard won the 110-pound match for Minerva, via technical fall (28-13) over Alyssa Detchon, while Aaleyah Barrett pinned Keesha Leake (1:32) in the 130-pound match. Jada Shafer pinned Raygen Speelman (1:32) in the 135-pound bout. The match’s remaining weight divisions were voided via double forfeit.