Hurst, Hershberger among 2022 Strasburg Hall of Fame class


  • Crowl Interiors in Malvern, Ohio
  • Shook Auto Buy Vehicles
  • Gionino's Pizza Now Open in Carrollton
  • Daystar Malvern
  • Daystar North Canton
  • Kishman's
  • bh ad 9.22.23
  • screen shot 2023 11 17 at 11.21.58 am
  • Shook Auto in New Philadelphia
  • lifecare rotator ad
  • screen shot 2023 10 25 at 4.28.31 pm

Strasburg-Franklin High School announced on Thursday their Class of 2022 inductees for the Strasburg Athletic Hall of Fame.

Via a press release, Strasburg athletic director Gary Spinell announced four individuals and one team set to be enshrined, including former longtime football coach and athletic director Ron Hurst; boys’ basketball standout Brett Hershberger; former team medic Dr. James Houglan, and former softball star Samantha Reardon Pearson, as well as the 1978 Tigers girls’ basketball team.

Hurst, who spent 31 years as Strasburg’s head football coach, led the Tigers to four Inter-Valley Conference championships (1980, 1983, 1984, 2002) and three consecutive state playoff appearances (2000 to 2002). Named the 2000 Division IV Coach of the Year by the Associated Press, Hurst was inducted into the Ohio High School Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2012.

Hershberger, who currently serves as a teacher, coach, and assistant athletic director at Strasburg, was part of the 2000-01 Tigers boys’ basketball team that reached the Ohio State Tournament Final Four. After high school graduation, Hershberger was a four-time letterman for Mount Union‘s basketball team before returning the Strasburg.

“It’s an honor to be a part of the Strasburg Hall of Fame and be included with the previous classes,” said Hershberger following the announcement of his induction.

Houglan, a New Philadelphia resident, was a noted doctor for many of Strasburg’s teams over the years, while Reardon played shortstop for Strasburg’s first two state championship-winning softball teams (1987, 1988). In the final of Strasburg’s first state title win (a 9-0 final over Mineral Ridge), Reardon went 2-for-4 at the plate and scored two runs.

The 1978 girls basketball team advanced to the Class A Delaware Regional semifinals before falling to Buckeye Trail 59-48.

The Hall of Fame’s induction ceremony will be held Saturday, January 22, 2022, at Strasburg High School.